Phone: 519-787-2892
Fax: 519-787-2673
Email: barb@letterville.com

Copyright ©1995-2008
The Letterhead Website

The Letterville BullBoard Post New Topic  New Poll  Post A Reply
my profile login | search | faq | calendar | im | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» The Letterville BullBoard » Letterhead/Pinstriper Talk » Need advice on primers for foam and HDU

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Need advice on primers for foam and HDU
Steve Luck
Resident

Member # 5292

Icon 15 posted      Profile for Steve Luck   Author's Homepage   Email Steve Luck   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
I have been cutting lots of HDU pieces on my ShopBot and recently some insulation foam sheets.
I was told a long time ago that Jay Cook's primer works great on HDU so that's what I've been using for a few years. Now that I am using my CNC router, I have been cutting indoor signs, logos and shapes from insulation foam mainly for practice.

I want to paint the insulation foam pieces so I need to know what water-based primer will do the trick. Also is their something I can use to give the cheap foam a harder shell before painting?

Some of these projects will turn into Christmas presents if I get them done in time! Any suggestions would be appreciated. I did go out to the Sherwin Williams paint store and picked up a quart of their water-based primer to try. It isn't too expensive ($21.Gal) $10 for the quart. If it works I will go back and get a gallon. Anything else out there that you are using? Thanks for your help!

Sign-cerely, Steve

--------------------
Steve Luck
Sign Magic Inc.
2718-b Grovelin
Godfrey, Illinois 62035
(618)466-9120
signmagic@sbcglobal.net

Posts: 870 | From: 2718-b Grovelin Godfrey, Illinois 62035 | Registered: Dec 2004  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Rodger MacMunn
Visitor
Member # 4316