Phone: 519-787-2892
Fax: 519-787-2673
Email: barb@letterville.com

Copyright ©1995-2008
The Letterhead Website

The Letterville BullBoard Post New Topic  New Poll  Post A Reply
my profile login | search | faq | calendar | im | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» The Letterville BullBoard » Letterhead/Pinstriper Talk » Bubbles in layed vinyl

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Bubbles in layed vinyl
michael potter
Visitor
Member # 6539

Icon 1 posted      Profile for michael potter   Email michael potter       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
I am New to all this and still at times get air bubbles. now I realise this is my error but I don't now what to change or what to check on my squeege just in case I can blame my tools. Any information would be gratefully devoured by myself
Thanks Mike [Thanks]

--------------------
Michael Potter
Dove Cottage
16 Dolphin Street
Deception Bay 4508

Posts: 10 | From: brisbane, australia | Registered: May 2006  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Jillbeans
Resident

Member # 1912

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Jillbeans   Author's Homepage   Email Jillbeans   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Are you applying wet or dry?
There are folks I know who can stick a 4' piece of vynull down dry with nary a bubble...but I'm not one of them.
I do better with wet apps and a 3M gold squeegee.
I prefer Rapid Tac application fluid.
You spray the substrate, spray the sticky side of the vinyl, and squeegee the hell out of it.
Then spray the application tape and squeegee that too.
The only time I apply dry is for teeny tiny lettering, all coro, most banners, and some glass.
But I still get bubbles on occasion.
love...Jill

Posts: 8834 | From: Butler, PA, USA | Registered: Jan 2001  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Rick Beisiegel
Resident

Member # 3723