Phone: 519-787-2892
Fax: 519-787-2673
Email: barb@letterville.com

Copyright ©1995-2008
The Letterhead Website

The Letterville BullBoard Post New Topic  New Poll  Post A Reply
my profile login | search | faq | calendar | im | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» The Letterville BullBoard » Letterhead/Pinstriper Talk » Fired a client this morning

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Fired a client this morning
Mark M. Kottwitz
Visitor
Member # 1764

Icon 10 posted      Profile for Mark M. Kottwitz   Author's Homepage   Email Mark M. Kottwitz   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
I did it...fired a client.

A salesman for a company that I worked for several years ago left, and started his own company. I bumped into him a couple of times over the last year, and I told him that I was a free lance graphic artist / draftsman, and gave him a card...

Earlier this week he called me and wanted me to meet with him about a project he had going on, and wanted me to do some engineering drawings for him. I met with him, and he told me that he had a job that he had been working on for a couple of years to get, and finally got it. He wanted it done right, and wanted stamped engineering drawings.

I told him that I was not certified to stamp drawings, but I could find someone that could. He wanted me to work with the engineer, design the structural pole, foundation, and cab't design. He needed to at least know what size pole to get so that he could order it by today (because his steel prices were going up today). Going over the design, I found out that he would like to go with a single pole design, and wanted to try to keep the base pole in the 12" dia. range.

Well, I got in touch with a company down in TN that was certified, and only charged $130 for stamped drawings. I talked to the engineer, and e-mailed him a pdf showing what my client was planning on building.