Fax: 519-787-2673
Email: barb@letterville.com

Copyright ©1995-2008
The Letterhead Website

The Letterville BullBoard Post New Topic  New Poll  Post A Reply
my profile login | search | faq | calendar | im | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» The Letterville BullBoard » Letterhead/Pinstriper Talk » HDU Advice needed

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: HDU Advice needed
Mike Stowe
Visitor
Member # 324

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Mike Stowe   Author's Homepage   Email Mike Stowe       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Hello...
I have a customer that would like a large 2 sided sign made - prob 4' x 8' or 4'x 10".

He only needs the painted/lettered sign - his building contractors are taking care of the posts & install.

He came into the shop asking for ½" alumalite for the material & has since asked about something thicker - I figured HDU would prob be the best solution, but I have never used it before.

Does HDU come in sizes that big? He wants the sign to be quite thick as well.

Any info you can give would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you very much!
Mike

[ September 01, 2005, 11:03 PM: Message edited by: Mike Stowe ]

--------------------
Mike Stowe
Signs Unlimited
Mishawaka, IN
info@pwcgraphics.com

Posts: 208 | From: Mishawaka, Indiana USA | Registered: Nov 1998  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Bruce Bowers
Resident

Member # 892

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Bruce Bowers   Email Bruce Bowers   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
HDU is going to prove to be a costly option here. Unless you are going to carve, rout, or sandblast the sign, it does not warrant the money.

I would build an aluminum frame and skin it with .040" pre-finished aluminum. You can make the sign body any depth you need without breaking the customer's budget.